Celebrating Rajasthan!

On March 30st Rajasthan Day is celebrated to mark the formation of the state of Rajasthan. 

Rajasthan, which means land of kings, came into existence on March 30, 1949. The state mostly comprises lands of Rajputs including the erstwhile nineteen princely states, two chiefships, and the British district of Ajmer-Merwara. Rajasthan, which is the largest state of India in terms of the area, also shares borders with Pakistan’s Punjab province.

Up to this day Rajasthan houses an amazing variety of arts and architecture as every erstwhile princely state had a distinctive style. Next to that there is the wildlife, nature parks and historical sights, such as  the ruins of the Indus Valley Civilisation at Kalibanga and Balathal, the Dilwara Temples, a Jain pilgrimage site at Rajasthan’s only hill station, Mount Abu, in the ancient Aravalli mountain range and the Keoladeo National Park near Bharatpur, a World Heritage Site known for its birdlife. The state is also home to three national tiger reserves, the Ranthambore National Park in Sawai Madhopur, Sariska Tiger Reserve in Alwar and Mukundra Hill Tiger Reserve in Kota.

This artwork by Mahaveer Swami, appointed by Bernadette van Gelder, identifies the different princely states.